top of page
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 10.18.51 PM.pn
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 10.19.00 PM.pn

How I Use My Cricut to Make T-shirts

Hello and happy St. Patrick's Day! I love any day that gives me an excuse to throw on a festive outfit, and St. Patty's is no exception! Every year I go all out with green clothing and accessories. This year, I decided to use my Cricut machine to make my own t-shirt for the holiday!

The first thing I did was go on Google images to find a four-leaf clover I was happy with. The color didn't matter, I just wanted one with a good shape. When I found one I was happy with, I saved it to my computer and opened it in a Word Doc. I then put the words "don't pinch me" on the clover in white so it stood out. I put it into my Cricut program and chose which parts I wanted my machine to cut. I wanted the four leaf clover shape cut out as well as all of the words inside the clover.

Next, I got some silver Iron-On vinyl ready and prepared it on my Cricut mat. I really like the Cricut brand of vinyl because it is really good quality. It is pretty expensive, though, so don't worry, there are plenty of cheaper vinyl options for DIY projects. Then, I just let my Cricut do it's job!

When my Cricut was finished cutting out my design, I cut around my design with scissors so it was smaller and easier to work with. Then, I peeled off all of the excess vinyl (that's what that pile of silver stuff is). To get the smaller pieces peeled off, all you have to do is use a toothpick. Its so easy! When the excess is peeled off, the clear plastic is sticky and will stick to the surface of your t-shirt. Once the design was ready, I placed in on my t-shirt where I wanted it and then just ironed it on! You just iron it as- is without worrying about burning or melting anything. After ironing for around 30 seconds, I peeled the plastic off. That is my favorite part because it is SOOO satisfying.

I really liked how my t-shirt turned out. I am so happy I decided to cut out the words because I love the green peeping through the clover! I went with silver and green because it matches the St. Patty's earrings I've been wearing for years. I am really happy with my festive outfit and I know I will be pulling this t-shirt out every year for St. Patricks day.

I have been loving making t-shirts with my Cricut. It is so fun! I have made tons of designs for holidays and for friends. One of my favorite fashion items is a graphic t-shirt, so this is perfect for my low-budget closet! If you'd like to see some of the t-shirts I have made or if you would like me to make a t-shirt for you, please let me know! I am thinking about making an Etsy shop and selling some of my favorite t-shirt designs. Thanks for reading! Please give this post a like, leave a comment, and subscribe! :)


bottom of page