top of page
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 10.18.51 PM.pn
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Screen Shot 2019-09-16 at 10.19.00 PM.pn

DIY Wine Cork Planters

Every time I finish a bottle of wine, I save the cork. You never know when you'll come across an amazing idea involving old wine corks! Here is one of the ideas I found recently that I just HAD to share with you: wine cork planters!

The first step in creating these planters is to either buy some wine corks or save them whenever you finish a bottle. If you're a wine lover like me, it won't take long for you to accumulate quite a few wine corks! I saved some corks from a few different brands so it was cool to have some variety in my planters.

The next step in making these adorable planters is to use some scissors or a knife to cut out the middle of your cork to form a little pot for your plant. Make sure to be super careful during this step! I really underestimated how difficult and time consuming this step would be, but it turned out okay in the end! Keep in mind its okay if it looks messy, the dirt is going to cover most of it up.

Next, you're going to need something to plant! I went with some fake plants because I don't want to deal with the up-keep of real plants. I got these little fake plants from Michaels for $2 a piece. You can't go wrong!

Next, you're gunna need some dirt or rocks to put in your planter. I wasn't about to spend money on dirt to fill up three tiny wine corks, so I literally just went outside and got a handful of dirt. To be honest, I ended up throwing most of it back outside.

I filled the wine corks with dirt, cut the plants to fit into the planters, and stuck them in the dirt. Simple as that! I like the variety of the fake plants I decided to use. The little one looks kinda like a succulent!

This part is optional, but I thought it was a really cute idea! I got these little magnets from a hardware store and glued them to the back of the planters. Then I just stuck them on the fridge! I absolutely love my little planter magnets! They are such a fun and creative way to add a little something extra to your kitchen.

I hope you enjoyed my short, sweet little blog post about my wine cork planters. Let me know if you decide to make them and how they turn out! Thanks for reading! Please give this post a like, leave a comment, and subscribe! :)

bottom of page